News Release

2012-13 Officers and Newly Elected Board of Directors Members Sworn in at Annual Meeting

Washington, DC ­ (July 31, 2012) -- NACDL elected and swore in its new Officers and Directors at its Annual Board and Membership Meeting in San Francisco, California, on July 28, 2012. California attorney, NACDL Life Member and now NACDL Parliamentarian Vicki Young was awarded the 32nd annual Robert C. Heeney Memorial Award. The Heeney Award is given annually to the member who best exemplifies the goals and values of the Association and the legal profession. Anthony Romero, Executive Director of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), was awarded NACDL’s Champion of Justice Award. And Connecticut attorney Jennifer L. Zito was awarded NACDL’s 2nd Champion of State Criminal Justice Reform Award.

Election Results are below:

Executive Committee

President: Steven D. Benjamin (Richmond, VA)
President-Elect: Jerry J. Cox (Mount Vernon, KY)
First Vice-President: Theodore Simon (Philadelphia, PA)
Second Vice-President: E.G. Morris (Austin, TX)
Treasurer: John Wesley Hall (Little Rock, AR) (two-year term)
Secretary: Barry J. Pollack (Washington, DC)

Board of Directors

Ellen C. Brotman (Philadelphia, PA)
Alexander Bunin (Houston, TX)
Jean-Jacques Cabou (Phoenix, AZ)
Anthony Cotton (Waukesha, WI)
Aric M. Cramer (St. George, UT)
Candace Crouse (Cincinnati, OH)
Ramon De La Cabada (Miami, FL)
Drew Findling (Atlanta, GA)
Richard Gilbert (Washington, DC)
Nina Ginsberg (Alexandria, VA)
Bonnie Hoffman (Leesburg, VA)
Ashish Joshi (Ann Arbor, MI)
Nellie King (West Palm Beach, FL)
Benjamin LaBranche (Baton Rouge, LA)
Jeff Thoma (Fairfield, CA)

Vicki Young (San Francisco, CA) was appointed Parliamentarian by NACDL President Steven D. Benjamin at the July 28 meeting of the Board of Directors.

Directors Drew Findling (Atlanta, GA) and Christopher A. Wellborn (Rock Hill, SC) were selected to serve on NACDL’s Executive Committee.

Featured Products


Ivan J. Dominguez, Deputy Director of Public Affairs & Communications, (202) 465-7662 or

The National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers is the preeminent organization advancing the mission of the criminal defense bar to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime or wrongdoing. A professional bar association founded in 1958, NACDL's many thousands of direct members in 28 countries – and 90 state, provincial and local affiliate organizations totaling up to 40,000 attorneys – include private criminal defense lawyers, public defenders, military defense counsel, law professors and judges committed to preserving fairness and promoting a rational and humane criminal legal system.